jacob

Hello, my name is Jacob and I’m a sophomore Communication major and Creative Writing minor at the University of Maryland. I grew up in Potomac, Maryland. I care deeply about the topic of transgender bathroom rights because of how rapidly the issue is developing in our current political landscape.

Debating over an issue that is so relevant in the national news right now is a unique opportunity to take a stand. This issue may also affect my own friends and classmates. There have been many steps in the right direction towards giving transgender students free choice, but recent decisions on both the state and national levels have been concerning setbacks and reveal that there is a strong opposition against this freedom.

As an American who believes in the words written by our founding fathers in the Declaration of Independence and Bill of Rights about equality between all people, I feel that the restrictions against bathroom use contradict the core foundations of our country. Instead, these restrictions only serve to segregate people.

